The Drake opened in 1890 as D. A. Small’s Hotel. At the time, the area was a major Canadian Pacific Railway hub that linked downtown with the lakeside summer homes of Toronto’s western beaches. For the next half century, the Hotel transitioned through several owners and names including Hotel Cecil and the Stardust. In 1949, Michael Lundy purchased the property, renamed it the Drake, expanded the building and created many of the improvements visible today, including the grand staircase in the lobby and the addition of a lounge and restaurant.
The current owner purchased the property in late 2001 and undertook the extensive renovations that gave the hotel its current form. The Drake re-opened its doors in February of 2004 and has since gone on to proudly redefine the Toronto boutique hotel experience.